3 Unlucky Captain In History Of World Cricket

Unlucky Captains: There were many captains in international cricket, who made the team world champion during their tenure. Over the past decades we have seen many successful captains like Ricky Ponting from Australia, MS Dhoni from India and ‘Imran Khan’ from Pakistan. Ricky Ponting is one of Australia’s most successful captains in any format of international cricket.

Meanwhile, captain Cool MS Dhoni made India the ODI and International T20 World Cup champions. Meanwhile, there were captains who, even after leading their team for a long time, could not be so successful in international cricket. Here we tell you about three unlucky captains of international cricket.

1. Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene: Unlucky captains in world cricket history
Mahela Jayawardene: Unlucky captains in world cricket history

Former Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene received the ICC International Captain of the Year award in 2006. The Sri Lankan team, led by Jarwardene, reached the final of the 2007 ICC World Cup after losing against the Australian team managed by Ricky Ponting.

Following this, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board decided to reshuffle the leadership of the team and wicketkeeper-beater Kumar Sangakkara was given the captaincy of the team. At the same time, during the 2011 World Cup, he resigned as vice-captain of Sri Lanka in the ODI format.

2. Inzamam-ul-Haq

Inzamamul Haq's: Unlucky captains in world cricket history
Inzamamul Haq’s: Unlucky captains in world cricket history

Inzamam-ul-Haq is the sole captain of Pakistan, under whose leadership Pakistan faced defeat in the 2007 T20 World Cup. He has been in a precarious position since the mysterious death of their biggest supporter, coach Bob Woolmer.

After Pakistan’s defeat in the final Indo-Pak match, the PCB snatched the captaincy from their hands. He no longer had the chance to lead the team. After Inzamam-ul-Haq, PCB named veteran player Shahid Afridi as Pakistan’s next captain.

3. Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson: Unlucky captains in world cricket history
Kane Williamson: Unlucky captains in world cricket history

No one can forget a mistake made by New Zealand captain Kane Williamson during the 2019 Cricket World Cup. Kane Williamson was leading the Kiwis and it was New Zealand’s second time playing in a World Cup final.

The result was declared on a boundary basis after the Super Over draw and England took the trophy as their batsmen reached over boundary. Meanwhile, Australia beat New Zealand in the ICC T20 World Cup in 2021. In such a situation, New Zealand lost both chances due to the unlucky captains of Kane Williamson.

#unlucky #captains #cricket #history #lost #chance #called #world #champions #mistake

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.